History of Copley Square

1870

The Museum of Fine Arts stood where the Copley Plaza Hotel stands today.

1875

New Old South Church was completed.

1877

Trinity Church opened its doors.

1883

The name was changed from Art Square to Copley Square (after Boston's well-known artist)

1885

The Boston Public Library completed the architectural framework surrounding the square.

1966

The City proposed closing off Huntington to join the existing triangles into a "square." The result was a sunken park, which would be less noisy and offer seclusion from busy street life.

1983

After residents and businesses formed the Copley Square Centennial Committee, the City launched a series of public workshops to establish guidelines for a new park.

1989

A national competition resulted in the current design which was dedicated in this year. The Fountain and the irrigation system were installed.

1992

The Friends of Copley Square was founded as the logical successor to the Copley Square Centennial Committee, whose work of redesign and reconstruction of Copley Square had been accomplished between 1983 and 1991.

2002

The statue of John Singleton Copley installed to honor the Colonial artist whose name graces the area.  The Virginia artist Lewis Cohen created the statue.

2010

The Friends of Copley Square revitalizing itself reengaging the neighborhood residents and business people who value the Square's unique qualities and the many varied activities planned for the Square throughout the Year, working in partnership with the City of BostonParks Department.

Copley Square - The Story of Boston's Art Square.

6 mb Pdf      *     11 mb Pdf

Frederick C. Gleason, AIA, LEED AP, Webmaster. Site hosted by The Gleason Partnership - Architects